Finding Original (or "Scientific") Research Articles
Quick answer...
Searching for Original, Scientific Articles
The library's databases allow you to narrow down your options to research articles (also sometimes listed as "scholarly" and/or "peer reviewed" in databases) -- or choose a database that ONLY includes research articles. In the box below are a few good starting options, but you can also see all of the TCC library research databases via the link below.
- Complete List of TCC Library Research DatabasesClick here to view all of the research databases available at your TCC Library
Popular Research Databases: EbscoHost
The Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, and PsycARTICLES databases (all published by EbscoHost) include many original research articles. (The direct links to these databases are at the bottom of this box.)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text provides access to over 600 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
(Also known as APA PsycARTICLES).(Ebsco) Periodical database of peer-reviewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology.
Search Tips
Search for Terms inside the Abstract
Type your topic into the first one or two search boxes and then use another box to type: "methods OR results OR study" as shown here in the second box. Use the drop down menu to choose the ABSTRACT search field for all boxes. Click search.
Limit to Academic Journals
Limit the results list by checking the "Academic Journals" limiter on the left side of the results page
You will still need to examine the individual articles looking for the characteristics listed under the "Definition and description" tab on this guide to be sure of finding the right kind of article.
Popular Research Databases: ProQuest
The ProQuest databases also include scientific research articles. There is a larger number and mix of article types in ProQuest, so you may need to look through a larger number of articles to find what you need.
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
Search Tips
Limit For Terms in the Abstract
Click on ADVANCED SEARCH, then enter your search terms in one or two search boxes and results OR methods in the second or third box. As in EbscoHost, change the search field to "Abstract".
(click on image to enlarge)
Limit your results to scholarly journals
Quite a bit further down the screen, limit the search as shown below:
As you look through your results, you will need to examine the characteristics of the individual articles to make certain they are what you need.
Popular Databases: ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a database that only includes scholarly, scientific articles; It's a great place to try searches on a variety of contents.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and 11,000 books, including reference works. (Tip: After searching for your topic, choose the "Refine by subscribed journals" feature on the results page to view the items you can access free of charge because you are a TCC student.)
Search Tips
Limit Terms to the Abstract
By clicking on the "Advanced Search" option, you will be given more filters to help your search. By using the filter shown in the image below, you can limit your search to articles where that specific keyword appears inside the abstract.
(click on image to enlarge)
Limit to Research Articles
Similarly, you can limit to "research articles" by using the filters that appear on the left-side of the screen (after you've entered your search terms & see a list of results)
(click on image to enlarge)
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!