- Tacoma Community College Library
- Tacoma Community College Library
- SOC 260: Galta, S. (Winter 2025)
- Articles in TCC Library databases
SOC 260: Galta, S. (Winter 2025)
Article databases
Search these databases on topics related to how LGBTQ+ folks are depicted in popular culture.
Search tips:
- Each search phrase (concept) must go in its own search box. Example: Wicked AND movie AND sexuality
- Put quotation marks around search concepts with more than one word: Example: "Ice Spice" AND "Bikini Bottom"
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics. All images from Artstor are now on JSTOR!
ProQuest sample search
ProQuest Sample Search
Below is a sample search in ProQuest. Enter your search terms in the search boxes and then click the search button.
Tip: The "full text" option, listed below the search box, is checked by default. Leave this option checked, as it will bring up articles in their entirety that you can read (rather than just excerpts or annotations) -- this will help you save time when researching!
(click on image to enlarge)
What does "peer reviewed" mean"
The Peer-Review Process
Journals most often publish the original research studies carried out by researchers/experts/scholars for other researchers/experts/scholars. Journals are usually focused on a single subject (e.g. The American Journal of Nursing), and all of the articles submitted and published in that journal fall under that larger subject area. Not all journals use the peer-review process, but those that do, are called Peer-Reviewed Journals - and all of the studies/articles housed within them undergo that extra review process.
Who Are the "Peers" in "Peer Review"?
- Before it can be published, a peer reviewed article has been carefully reviewed by a board of other scholars in the same field of study as the author. So the "peers" in "peer review" are fellow scholars and researchers
- Sometimes these articles are referred to as "refereed."
Why? This is because the author's peers act as referees; they point out possible errors to make sure the final article reflects solid scholarship and advances understanding of the topic.
Limiting to Peer-Reviewed Journals
One of the great things about searching the library's databases is not just the free, full-text access they provide, but the filters! The majority of our library's periodical databases have a "Peer-Reviewed Journals" filter that you can simply check to limit your results to just journal articles that undergo this extra process.
Featured Video: Understanding the Peer-Review Process
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!