ENGL 101, HIT 130, WRITE 95 Learning Community: Butler, M. & Visel, J. (Fall 2024): Books
Library catalog (print and electronic books)
Why Use Books in Your Research?
The Library owns many print books and has access to electronic books (e-books) on your topic. Books are good for providing more in-depth information or putting the issue in context -- but be sure to check how current the information is.
TIP: Don't read the ENTIRE book, just the chapters and pages that are relevant to your topic. Use the table of contents or the index at the back of the book to help you find relevant chapters or pages.
For the medical terminology research project, search by name of the specific condition you are researching, keeping in mind that you may need to use lay terminology (e.g., heart attack) instead of medical terminology (e.g., myocardial infarction).
Search for Books:
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.
Gale E-books
The Library Catalog includes encyclopedias from our Gale eBooks database, but it is much easier to search for specific entries in the database itself. This database is an excellent place to search for a broad overview of the health issue you are exploring. Search by name of the specific condition you are researching, keeping in mind that you may need to use lay terminology (e.g., heart attack) instead of medical terminology (e.g., myocardial infarction).
Search for Encyclopedia Entries:
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
Accessing electronic books
Accessing Electronic Books
If you use the catalog, some of the items listed will be electronic books (e-books).
You will know if it is an e-book, if there is a bold 'E' next to "Format" in the record. To access and read the book, click on "Click to View" or the URL provided at the bottom of the record.
(click on image to enlarge)
Medical terminology books from the TCC library
Medical Terminology Books From the TCC Library
Medical Dictionaries from the TCC Library
Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing and health professions by Call Number: Reference R121.M89 2022
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!