ENGL101: Moser, A. (Fall 2024): Searching for articles in library databases
Article databases
Article Databases
The Library has some print journals, magazines, and newspapers but most are stored electronically in research databases. The databases listed below cover a number of subjects and are good starting points for finding articles for your research.
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
Need More Help Options?
Consider the linked list below
- Complete List of TCC Library Research DatabasesClick here to view all of the research databases available at your TCC Library
ProQuest sample search
Below is a sample search in ProQuest. Enter your search terms in the search boxes and then click the search button.
TIP: The "full text" option, listed below the search box, is checked by default. Leave this option checked, as it will bring up articles in their entirety that you can read (rather than just excerpts or annotations) -- this will help you save time when researching!
Why use articles in your research?
Why Use Articles?
- You can get more specific information in articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, and newspapers).
- Journal articles are often more current than books.
- The Library’s databases contain thousands of articles from newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and scholarly journals.
- You often cannot access the full text of most of these articles through Google (because the publishers like to be paid!)
Tip For Reading Articles:
If the article has an abstract or summary, read the abstract to learn what the article is about. If it looks like it might be useful for your research, then read the whole article.
Where Are Articles in the TCC Library?
Your TCC Library has some journals, magazines, and newspapers in print, but you have access to so many more articles in periodicals that are stored electronically in research databases. The databases on this page are good starting points for finding articles on this topic.
Image source: "Magazines and reading journals" by jackmac34 is in the Public Domain, CC0
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!