ENGL 101: Krystal, B. (Fall 2024): Reference sources - encyclopedias
Annotated bibliography source requirement - an encyclopedia article
You will need to include 1 article taken from a subject encyclopedia or online encyclopedia entry in your annoated bibliography.
This page will provide you with the best resources for finding this kind of article.
Why use reference sources in your research?
Why use reference sources?
Reference materials, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, give you a general overview of your topic and can point you to more specific research.
This information can also help you identify relevant names, places, ideas, and dates to use as search terms.
Use these resources as a starting point for your research!
Image source: "Encyclopedias" by kdavis25 is in the Public Domain, CC0
Online encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia BritannicaFact-checked online encyclopedia with hundreds of thousands of objective articles
- WikipediaDon't cite Wikipedia sources! But you can use Wikipedia in a smarter way, by scrolling down to the Resources or External Links section on any entry to follow the cited sources, or using Wikipedia entries for keywords you can use for searching in other places.
Gale eBooks
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
Gale eBooks is essentially a database full of thousands of encyclopedia articles and a great place to start your research.
To search, enter your search term(s) in the search box and click the search icon. See screenshot below.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!