Brainstorm and explore topics: Use topic tools in library databases
Use library databases to explore and develop topics
How to Use Topic Tools in Library Databases
Featured Video Tutorial
- How to use topic tools in library databases (Panopto video, 2020)Click this link to view this TCC Library video tutorial, created in Panopto, in a new window.
How to Use the Topic Finder Tool in Gale eBooks Library Database
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
Start with a Simple Keyword Search
- Type in a keyword related to your topic -- start simple!
- Then click on the "Start the Topic Finder" button
(click on image to enlarge)
Visualization Graphic
The default visualization method is tiles, but you can also choose the wheel option. Click on a keyword tile to explore and narrow down your topic. You can develop your topic, collect additional keywords, and find some potential articles all at the same time!
(click on image to enlarge)
How to Browse Categories in Points of View Reference Center Database
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Articles on 400 topics, each with an overview and an argument, and many with opposing arguments. Also includes primary sources.
- Scroll down the home page of this database to explore the Browse by Category box
- Or click on the "Show All" link to view a list of all the categories in alphabetical order
(click on image to enlarge)
How to Browse Topics and Reports in CQ Researcher
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
These weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic.
Remember that the CQ Researcher database has in-depth, original reports on current events and political issues.
- Click on the Browse Topics drop-down menu to explore broad topics. When you click on a topic, you will then see a list of sub-topics, and you can explore further.
- Click on the Browse Reports drop-down menu to explore reports by date, issue, etc. Again, when you click on an option, you can narrow down further.
(click on image to enlarge)
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!