ANTH 205: Jenkins, K. (Spring 2024): Finding peer-reviewed articles
Introduction
One of the requirements for your Annotated Bibliography assignment is to find 4 scholarly, peer-reviewed articles related to your chosen topic. Check out the links below to find articles.
Databases containing scholarly, peer-reviewed journals
The Academic Search Complete database, published by EbscoHost, includes many original research articles.
Search tips:
Type your topic into the first one or two search boxes and then use another box to type: "methods OR results OR study" as shown here in the second box. Use the drop down menu to choose the ABSTRACT search field for all boxes. Click search.
Limit to academic journals:
Limit the results list by checking the "Academic Journals" limiter on the left side of the results page
You will still need to examine the individual articles looking for the characteristics listed under the "Definition and description" tab on this guide to be sure of finding the right kind of article.
Explore Academic Search Complete:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
The ProQuest databases also include scientific research articles. There is a larger number and mix of article types in ProQuest, so you may need to look through a larger number of articles to find what you need.
Search tips:
Click on ADVANCED SEARCH, then enter your search terms in one or two search boxes and results OR methods in the second or third box. As in EbscoHost, change the search field to "Abstract".
Limit your results to scholarly journals:
Quite a bit further down the screen, limit the search as shown below:
As you look through your results, you will need to examine the characteristics of the individual articles to make certain they are what you need.
Explore the ProQuest database:
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
ScienceDirect is a database that only includes scholarly, scientific articles!
Advanced Search tips:
If you go to the "Advanced Search" option, you can see there is an option below the search boxes to narrow down to "research articles"
Explore ScienceDirect:
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and 11,000 books, including reference works. (Tip: After searching for your topic, choose the "Refine by subscribed journals" feature on the results page to view the items you can access free of charge because you are a TCC student.)
Evolutionary Anthropology journal
Search this journal to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles on your topic.
https://onlinelibrary-wiley-com.tacomacc.idm.oclc.org/journal/15206505
Article abstracts on publisher's websites
Try finding abstracts related to your topic from these publisher websites:
Finding scholarly articles in Google Scholar
Finding scholarly sources with Google Scholar
It can be difficult to find scholarly articles on the web, because for the most part, historians publish their work in scholarly journals or books. But you might occasionally find a useful scholarly article using Google Scholar, which is a free online "citation index." That means that mostly, it only provides citation information for articles, and no full text ... but sometimes, if you are lucky, you can find full text.
Sample search:
Here's a screenshot of a sample search:
(click on image to enlarge)
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!