Tacoma Community College Library: ENGL 101, COL 101 Learning Community: Butler, M. & Crook, L. (Fall 2024): Articles

Start here: Multidisciplinary article databases

Why use article databases?

The Library has some journals, magazines, and newspapers in print -- but we have thousands more stored electronically in research databases, also called "library databases" or "article databases." Here are some reasons to use article databases:

Looking for articles in library databases can help you find more specific information.
Almost all library databases -- including all the ones featured below -- have built-in citation tools to help make the citation process easier.
And to help save time, you can also narrow down your results to "peer-reviewed" articles, when you are looking for more authoritative information.

Try searching the following multidisciplinary article databases for articles about health disparities:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.

Subject-specific databases

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text provides access to over 600 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Coverage of nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
After searching for your topic, choose the "Refine by subscribed journals" feature on the results page to view the items you can access free of charge because you are a TCC student. Subject coverage includes the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
(Also known as APA PsycARTICLES).(Ebsco) Periodical database of peer-reviewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology. Use this database to find information about disparities in mental healthcare.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher Web sites (i.e. not all articles will be available to you).

Articles about health disparities from the TCC Library

Jones, Camara Phyllis. “Levels of Racism: A Theoretic Framework and a Gardener’s Tale.” American Journal of Public Health, vol. 90, no. 8, Aug. 2000, pp. 1212–15. EBSCOhost
"The author presents a theoretic framework for understanding racism on 3 levels: institutionalized, personally mediated and internalized. This framework is useful for raising new hypotheses about the basis of race-associated differences in health outcomes, as well as for designing effective interventions to eliminate those differences."
Diaz, Jeannette. “What Diversity Means to Me.” Access, vol. 28, no. 4, Apr. 2014, pp. 18–19. EBSCOhost
Personal essay by a Latina dental hygienist about diversity and more equitable access to dental care.
Currie, Janet. “Born Unequal.” Scientific American, vol. 323, no. 4, Oct. 2020, pp. 50–57. EBSCOhost
"The article discusses health equity considerations and racial and ethnic minority groups. Topics include COVID- 19 pandemic has disproportionately hurt members of minority communities in the U.S.; Structural racism accounts for much of this disparity; and African-Americans are more likely to have jobs that require them to leave their homes and to commute by public transport, for example, both of which increase the chances of getting infected."
Pearson, Rachel. “Racial Bias in Medicine.” Scientific American, vol. 313, no. 5, Nov. 2015, p. 14. EBSCOhost
"The author presents her thoughts on why racial bias exists in medicine, stating that minorities such as African-Americans and Latinos routinely receive worse care. She suggests this can be addressed by a great emphasis on recruiting and retaining medical students who reflect the diverse populations in the U.S. In addition, she argues that white medical trainees should not avoid discussing race in order to bring more attention to racial bias."
Longman, Phillip. “Is Inequality Shortening Your Life Span?” Washington Monthly, vol. 45, no. 1/2, Jan. 2013, pp. 34–38. EBSCOhost
"The article discusses health disparities between the races in the U.S., particularly among the whites and African Americans. It examines the correlations of poverty, personal autonomy, and social and economic standing on health and longevity. It presents a thought experiment that compares health risks, prospects for good health and long life if one were to choose being born black from being born white to highlight these correlations."
Washington, Harriet A. “The Best Rx for Environmental Health Disparities: The Path to a Healthier Future: Address Environmental Health Risks Today.” Sierra, Jan. 2021, pp. 1–8. EBSCOhost
"The article focuses on the best Rx for Environmental Health Disparities. Topics discussed include higher rates of coronavirus infection and death have plagued the racially marginalized African American, Latino, and Native American communities; and other infectious scourges such as HIV and hepatitis C have shown a similar pattern."
Villarosa, Linda. "THE HIDDEN TOLL." New York Times Magazine, Apr 15, 2018, pp. 30-39,47-48,51. ProQuest
"Why are black mothers and babies in the United States dying at more than double the rate of white mothers and babies? The answer has everything to do with the lived experience of being a black woman in America." Integrates several engaging personal stories, supported by evidence.