Tacoma Community College Library: HUM 110: Chen-Johnson, M. (Winter 2025): Articles

Article databases

The Library has some print journals, magazines, and newspapers but most are stored electronically in research databases. The databases listed below cover a number of subjects and are good starting points for finding articles for your research.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.

Search terms

Below is a list of search terms related to your class theme this quarter: Taiwan. Remember, different terms will get you different results, and you may need to try several different searches to find relevant articles! Keep in mind that this list is not exhaustive and there are many other terms you might brainstorm.

Taiwan
Activism
Student activism
Activist movements
Protests
Social justice
Sunflower Movement
Indigenous rights
Gender
Sexuality
Women's rights
China
Autonomy
Democracy
Education reform
Nuclear power (or search "anti-nuclear")

NOTE: Also consider searching for the name of a particular artist or artwork (e.g., Wu Tien-Chang)

Example searches (please feel free to copy and paste these search strings into either ProQuest or Academic Search Complete):

Taiwan AND "student activism"
Taiwan AND "Sunflower Movement"
Taiwan AND (gender OR sexuality)
Taiwan AND democracy AND activism