SOC 201: Galta, S. (Fall 2024) - Social Problems: Finding article sources
Articles
One of the requirements for your Social Problems Research Presentation is to include at least 3 scholarly, sociological, peer reviewed articles in your work. This page will show you where and how to search for these kinds of articles in the library databases.
Find articles in these library databases
The following library databases are good places to START searching for articles related to your topic. Each database includes tools to help you email, cite, and print articles.
Library databases with articles across many subjects (including sociology):
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
Library databases with articles on sociological topics:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics. All images from Artstor are now on JSTOR! - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and 11,000 books, including reference works. (Tip: After searching for your topic, choose the "Refine by subscribed journals" feature on the results page to view the items you can access free of charge because you are a TCC student.)
Finding articles in ProQuest
Searching in Proquest
Use the link below to access this database, and use the additional tabs to learn more about how to search ProQuest.
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new windowMultiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
Search Tips
- Quick Guide: ProQuest PeriodicalsView or download this quick guide to learn more about what kinds of information this databases houses and how to access it.
Video: Peer review in 3 minutes
Searching for peer reviewed articles in ProQuest
ProQuest (and other databases) allows you to narrow your search results by article type. If you are searching for scholarly articles in ProQuest, make sure to select "peer reviewed," which is located under the search boxes.
Other databases may use additional terms to designate peer reviewed articles, such as "scholarly" or "academic."
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!