Black Voices
Searching The Library's Collection
Use the links below to access the library's online collections - searching for books or ebooks in the library's catalog, or searching through streaming films and articles from an array of publications.
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections. - African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
(Oxford) Articles from specialized encyclopedias of African American and African history and culture. Includes primary sources and the African American National Biography. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
Featured Non-Fiction Books & eBooks
The TCC Library has access to books and ebooks by and for the Black community. This page features books related to important Black figures, movements, and creations.
- For ebooks, click on the title of the book and locate it in our catalog.
- For print books, take the call number and bring it to our Reference Desk for assistance.
Use the arrows to scroll through the featured titles, or click on a title or the image of the book to access more.
What sorrows labour in my parent's breast?
The legacy of the slave family haunts the status of black Americans in modern U.S. society. Brenda Stevenson provides a long overdue concise history to help the reader understand this vitally important African American institution.
Race in the crucible of war
When African American servicemen went to fight in the Vietnam War, discrimination and prejudice followed them. Even in a faraway country, their military experiences were shaped by the racial environment of the home front.
Black health in the South
A collection of important essays on the health and well-being of African Americans in the southern United States.
Political Black Girl magic
Political Black Girl Magic explores black women's experiences as mayors in American cities.
Featured Biography & Memoirs
The Swans of Harlem
The forgotten story of a pioneering group of five Black ballerinas and their fifty-year sisterhood.
Better living through birding
Central Park birder Christian Cooper takes us beyond the viral video that shocked a nation and into a world of avian adventures,
How do you spell unfair?: MacNolia Cox and the National Spelling Bee
From a multi-award-winning pair comes a deeply affecting portrait of determination against discrimination: the story of young spelling champion MacNolia Cox.
Ms. Davis
In Ms. Davis, the acclaimed French cartooning duo tell a story of this seminal, revolutionary, 1960s icon through an accessible graphic novel narrative.
The risk it takes to bloom
A passionate, powerful memoir by a trailblazing Black transgender activist, tracing her life of transformation and her work towards collective liberation.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!