Art Research Guide
Starting points
Searching for Articles
The Library has some print journals, magazines, and newspapers but most are stored electronically in research databases. The databases listed below cover a number of subjects (including art) and are good starting points for finding articles for your research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly article database that provides indexing and full text of older articles from respected academic journals in the Arts & Sciences.This is the best database for art-related research, with the exception of contemporary art (use ProQuest instead). - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that provides index and full-text coverage of journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers. A mix of popular and scholarly sources. Includes general academic subjects. This is a particularly good database for finding information about contemporary artists. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that covers most subject areas (including art). Includes journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Why use articles in your research?
Why Use Articles in Your Research?
- Journal articles are more specific and current than books, but have less in-depth information.
-
Sometimes journal articles will be the ONLY place to find information on a current artist or on a specific work.
-
The Library’s databases contain thousands of articles from newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and scholarly journals.
-
You cannot find and access the full text of most of these articles through Google (because the publishers like to be paid!).
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!