Anthropology research guide: Articles and multimedia
Starting points for finding articles
Databases to Get You Started
The Library has some print journals, magazines, and newspapers but most are stored electronically in research databases. The databases listed below cover a number of subjects and are good starting points for finding articles for your research.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics.
Need more help options? Consider the linked list below
- Complete List of TCC Library Research DatabasesClick here to view all of the research databases available at your TCC Library
Subject specific databases
- Ethnologue: Languages of the World This link opens in a new window
Find, read about, and research the world's 7,099 known living languages. - History Study Center This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized sources for the study of global history.
Cultural Anthropology
- Cultural Anthropology journal archivesPeer-reviewed, open access journal of the Society for Cultural Anthropology, a section of the American Anthropological Association. Their copyright notice gives permission to "download, save, reproduce, and transmit for noncommercial, scholarly, and educational purposes."
Journal of Anthropological Research
The TCC Library subscribes to the print edition of the Journal of Anthropological Research. Ask the reference librarian for more information.
Films on Demand
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!