Native American Voices
The purpose of this research guide is to highlight Native American voices writing about Native American issues, from the TCC Library collection and beyond.
Find books in the library's collection
Non-Fiction Books
Find Non-Fiction Books & Memoirs
The books below highlight the variety of non-fiction materials in the TCC Library collection written by Native American writers on Native American issues. This is by no means an exhaustive list but just a sample of such materials in the collection.
- Access e-books by clicking on the title of the book.
- To access a print book, take the call number to the Research Desk and the librarian will get it for you.
NEW!
New to the Collection
-
Native Nations
by
Call Number: Main Collection E77 .D887 2024Publication Date: 2024Kathleen DuVal traces the power of Native nations from the rise of ancient cities more than 1000 years ago to the present. She reframes North American history, noting significantly that Indigenous civilizations did not come to a halt when a few wandering explorers or hungry settlers arrived. -
Living resistance: An Indigenous vison for seeking wholeness every day
by
Call Number: Native American Collection BL624 .C875 2023Publication Date: 2023In an era in which "resistance" has become tokenized, Indigenous author Kaitlin Curtice reclaims it as a basic human calling. We each have a role to play in the world right where we are, and our everyday acts of resistance hold us all together. -
The rediscovery of America: Native peoples and the unmaking of U.S. history
by
Call Number: Native American Collection E77 .B64 2023Publication Date: 2023National Bestseller, Winner of the 2023 National Book Award in Nonfiction. "In accounts of American history, Indigenous peoples are often treated as largely incidental--either obstacles to be overcome or part of a narrative separate from the arc of nation-building. Blackhawk . . . [shows] that Native communities have, instead, been inseparable from the American story all along."--Washington Post -
Project 562
by
Call Number: Main Collection E77.5 .W55 2023Publication Date: 2023In 2012, Matika Wilbur set out on a Kickstarter-funded pursuit to visit, engage, and photograph people from what were then the 562 federally recognized Native American Tribal Nations. -
Native American Archaeology in the parks
by
Call Number: Travel Collection E77.9 .F433 2023Publication Date: 2023This book is a guide to 30 national parks, national historical parks, and national monuments that, each in its own way, reveals the histories and cultures of America's first inhabitants, the Native Americans.
Non-fiction e-books
Featured Non-Fiction Books
-
Staging indigeneity: salvage tourism and the performance of Native American history
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2021As tourists increasingly moved across the United States in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, a surprising number of communities looked to capitalize on the histories of Native American people to create tourist attractions. -
Walks on the ground
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2020Walks on the Ground is a record of Louis V. Headman's personal study of the Southern Ponca people. -
Native Providence
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2020A city of modest size, Providence, Rhode Island, had the third-largest Native American population in the United States by the first decade of the twentieth century. Native Providence tells the stories of the city's Native residents at this historical moment and in the decades before and after. -
Surviving genocide
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2019In this book, Jeffrey Ostler investigates how American democracy relied on Indian dispossession and the federally sanctioned use of force to remove or slaughter Indians in the way of U.S. expansion. -
Lakota America
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2019This first complete account of the Lakota Indians traces their rich and often surprising history from the early sixteenth to the early twenty first century.
Memoirs
Featured Memoirs
-
Thinning Blood
by
Call Number: Native American Collection E99 .C82 M94 2023Publication Date: 2023Leah Myers may be the last member of the Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe in her family line, due to her tribe's strict blood quantum laws. In this unflinching and intimate memoir, Myers excavates the stories of four generations of women in order to leave a record of her family. -
Red paint: The ancestral autobiography of a Coast Salish punk
by
Call Number: Native American Collection E99 .S21 L36 2023Publication Date: 2023An Indigenous artist blends the aesthetics of punk rock with the traditional spiritual practices of the women in her lineage in this bold, contemporary journey to reclaim her heritage and unleash her power and voice while searching for a permanent home. -
Stories from Saddle Mountain
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2021Stories from Saddle Mountain recounts family stories that connected the Tongkeamhas, a Kiowa family, to the Saddle Mountain community for more than a century. -
A history of my brief body
by
Call Number: Native American Collection PR9199.4 .B448 Z46 2020Publication Date: 2020A History of My Brief Body is a collection of essays and vignettes on grief, colonial violence, joy, love, and queerness. Billy-Ray Belcourt's debut memoir opens with a tender letter to his kokum and memories of his early life in the hamlet of Joussard, Alberta, and on the Driftpile First Nation. -
Too strong to be broken
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2020Too Strong to Be Broken explores the dynamic life of Edward J. Driving Hawk, a Vietnam and Korean War veteran, chairman of the Rosebud Sioux Tribe, former president of the National Congress of American Indians, husband, father, recovered alcoholic, and convicted felon. -
One voice rising
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2019One Voice Rising is a memoir by Ute healer, elder, and historian Clifford Duncan. Duncan here covers both personal and tribal history during a crucial period in the tribe's development.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!