Missing & Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls
Films
Featured Film
Library Resources
Scholary articles
Scholarly Articles
The following scholarly articles come from a selection of library databases. Use the library databases link below for a complete list of databases and to search for additional articles.
- Fighting for our sisters: Community advocacy and action for missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls.A 2022 article from the Journal of Social Issues
- Slouching Towards Autonomy: Reenvisioning Tribal Jurisdiction, Native American Autonomy, and Violence Against Women in Indian CountryA 2021 article from the Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology
- "Verbs that will story our bodies into something more than missing": Poetry, Presencing, and #MMIWG2SA 2022 article from American Indian Quarterly
- Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women: The Role of Grassroots Organizations and Social Media in EducationA 2019 article from Canadian Woman Studies
- The Murders of Indigenous Women in Canada as Feminicides: Toward a Decolonial Intersectional Reconceptualization of Femicide.A 2018 article from the Journal of Women in Culture & Society
Library Databases
Search the library databases to find additional articles related to MMIWG.
- Complete List of TCC Library Research DatabasesClick here to view all of the research databases available at your TCC Library
Search Tips
To find more articles try using the following search terms/strings:
- Highway of Tears
- Savanna's Act
- missing and murdered
- (violence OR murder* OR missing) AND (indigenous) AND (native)
E-Books
eBooks
The following is a selection of e-books and print books from the TCC collection related to MMIWG. Use the Library Catalog (link at the bottom of this box) to find more e-books and print books in the collection.
Indigenous women and violence by Indigenous Women and Violence offers an intimate view of how settler colonialism and other structural forms of power and inequality created accumulated violences in the lives of Indigenous women. This volume uncovers how these Indigenous women resist violence in Mexico, Central America, and the United States, centering on the topics of femicide, immigration, human rights violations, the criminal justice system, and Indigenous justice.
Highway of tears by Call Number: Main Collection HV6250.4 .W65 M339 2019Publication Date: 2019A true story of racism, indifference, and the pursuit of justice for missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls
In my own moccasins by Publication Date: 2019An unflinching memoir of addiction, intergenerational trauma, and the wounds of sexual assault from a resilient, emerging Indigenous voice. Helen Knott, a highly accomplished Indigenous woman, seems to have it all. But in her memoir, she offers a different perspective. In My Own Moccasins is an unflinching account of addiction, intergenerational trauma, and the wounds brought on by sexual violence.
Keetsahnak: Our missing and murdered Indigenous sisters by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781772123678Publication Date: 2018
The beginning and end of rape by Call Number: OnlineWinner of the Labriola Center American Indian National Book Award Despite what major media sources say, violence against Native women is not an epidemic. An epidemic is biological and blameless. Violence against Native women is historical and political, bounded by oppression and colonial violence. This book, like all of Sarah Deer's work, is aimed at engaging the problem head-on--and ending it.
Sharing our stories of survival by Call Number: Main Collection E98 .W8 S43 2008Publication Date: 2007
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!