GEOL 108/BIOL 105: R. Hitz: Finding scholarly articles: TCC Library databases
Academic Search Complete
TCC Library subscription databases - Academic Search Complete and more
Below we give an overview of how to use the database Academic Search Complete, as well as information about two other databases that you might find valuable for your topics in this course.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This database holds thousands of scholarly research journals, across a broad range of disciplines, from humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences. ASC also holds a few popular sources, magazines and newspapers, and trade journals. Scholarly journal articles are clearly marked with an "Academic Journal" icon.
1. Search example for a student who is interested in the broad topic of 'acanthodians'
Tip: Spelling counts when using database search engines! Check your spelling - especially if you are getting zero results!
2. Setting limits and more
3. Anatomy of the 1st page of an article a student found using the key word, 'trilobite'
4. Use terminology you find in articles to find more articles
Searching databases largely vary only in the differences in the interfaces - where you find different search tools. The following databases are also good sources for scholarly articles for your work in GEOL 108 and you can apply at least some of what is demonstrated above to these as well.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science Direct database holds hundreds of scholarly research journals across a broad range of disciplines within "hard" and "soft" sciences. Science Direct also holds books, book chapters, which are clearly labeled. While your assignment may allow for sources other than scholarly journals, if you are meeting criteria to include scholarly journal articles in your work, a book chapter will not meet that particular criteria. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
ProQuest is a huge multi-discipline database holding scholarly research journals, but also popular sources (magazines, newspapers) and trade journals. While your assignment may allow for different types of sources, if you are meeting criteria for a scholarly journal article, newspaper, magazine, and trade journal articles will not meet that criteria. Fortunately, articles are well-labeled just like Academic Search Complete, and Science Direct.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!