Anti-Asian/Asian American history in the United States: TCC Library resources
Articles
Search for articles
Explore the database list found on the Library website to search for scholarly and popular articles. Below is a short list of examples from several of the databases.
Featured articles
Because there are literally millions of articles in existence that are about thousands of topics related to Asian and Pacific Islander people, I pursued a hypothetical research topic on the impact of COIVD-19 on Asian Americans to make the examples meaningful.
- Anti-Asian xenophobia and Asian American COVID-19 disparitiesfrom Academic Search Complete, key search term ANTI-ASIAN
- Words that hurt: Leaders’ anti-Asian communication and employee outcomesFrom PsycArticles, search terms ANTI-ASIAN WORKPLACE
- Amidst pandemic and racial upheaval: Where Asian Americans Fitfrom Ethnic News Watch, search terms ANTI-ASIAN SUPPORTS
- Asian American students fear for elders: After racist attacks, college-age relatives urge others to speak outfrom ProQuest: search terms ASIAN STUDENTS COLLEGE and COVID
Books - TCC Library catalog, print and e-books
Search for books & ebooks
Below are just a few examples, I chose here to select a representation of a wide array of topics on Asian American history and social issues.
I have linked only to e-books here, but you will also find print books when you search the catalog. e-Books are designated with a bold E and include a link for access.
Featured books - Click to learn more
Film
Search for films
The TCC Library has two larger academic film databases. Below are links to them with examples of relevant film from each.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Over 67,000 videos covering a wide variety of subject areas. Programs include documentaries, interviews, performances, news, raw footage, and archival materials. Also includes The PBS Video Collection of over 600 titles.
Reference - encyclopedias
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference books (encyclopedias and dictionaries), covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic, including events in history.
- Pacific Islander Americansfrom the Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
- Asian Indian, Korean, and Southeast Asian Immigrationfrom the US Immigration and Migration Reference Library
- Asian Americans in Community Collegefrom Asian American Society: An Encyclopedia
TCC Library Research Chat
Chat with a Librarian
Have a question? Need help researching? Not sure where to find what you need?
Use the box below to chat with a (human) librarian 24/7
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!