Skip to Main Content

ENGL 102: Butler M. (Spring 2024): Home

This guide provides starting point resources for students' research assignments in this ENGL 102 course.

What's in the guide

This guide provides links to the most useful databases and resources for your research in Professor Michelle Butler's English 102 course. Use the tabs above to navigate the pages of this guide.

Decorative image of person writing.


Image source: Kim, Jonathan. Writing. 2007. Flickrhttps://www.flickr.com/photos/jkim1/452830868 

Final project: Persuasion effect

The following is a description of the annotated bibliography portion of your research assignment (the higlighting is from your librarian to emphasize the research requirements); please consult the complete assignment description or ask Professor Butler, for more details.

You may choose any issue that is important to you and/or relevant to your life.


Assignment: The Annotated Bibliography 

Purpose: The purpose of the annotated bibliography is to demonstrate that you have researched your topic. Each entry of your annotated bibliography will correspond to one of your sources. Each entry will include a citation (MLA or APA format) and a written "annotation." The annotation for each source will show that you have read the source, that you have comprehended what you read, that you understand the context of that source, and that you have thought about the author and the author's motivations/purpose for writing, as well as any bias the author may have. In addition, each annotated bibliography entry will explain how the source relates to your research and how you will use it in your paper. Writing an annotated bibliography is a great way to get started on a paper and a good way to hold yourself accountable (they ensure you don't wait until the last minute to do research). Once you have finished your annotated bibliography, you will have research and analysis to use in your paper, as well as a nearly completed Works Cited or References page. 

Assessment: Each of your annotated bibliography entries should include an MLA or APA formatted citation and an annotation demonstrating your summary, analysis, and application of that source. Each entry should demonstrate that you have read, comprehended, and analyzed that source. In addition, this assignment will demonstrate that you understand how to write and format an annotated bibliography and how to compose MLA or APA formatted citations. 

In preparation for your final persuasion project, compose an annotated bibliography using four credible sources (at least two academic or scholarly sources) from your research. For each of your four sources, include the following:

  • An MLA or APA formatted citation.
  • A brief, informative summary of the source/article. Consider: What is the meaning (universal idea)? How does the text/author feel (tone)? Who cares about the text (audience)? Your summary should be at least two to four sentences in length. Remember that a summary tries to be as objective as possible.
  • A brief analysis of the source/article. Your analysis should provide some context for the article. How does this article/source relate to some larger topic or conversation? Consider: What is the author up to (purpose)? And, How do you know (rhetorical strategies and devices)? Be sure to consider the author’s biases (if any) and what the “other side” of the argument might look like. Can you trust this article/source? Why or why not? Your analysis should be at least two sentences in length.
  • An explanation of how this source/article informs your research. How does this article relate to your rhetorical goals for the Argumentative Essay (and beyond)? Are you likely to utilize this source or article? Why or why not? This part of your bibliography should be at least once sentence in length.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Heather Gillanders
Contact:
Bldg 7, Library
If I'm not available, please stop by the reference desk to talk to another librarian.

TCC Library Research Chat

Chat with a Librarian

Have a question? Need help researching? Not sure where to find what you need? 

Use the box below to chat with a (human) librarian 24/7

Library research workshop agenda

CC BY SA license

Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.

Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087

Instagram logo

Visit us on Instagram!