United States History
Native Americans
Featured Books & eBooks
Alaska native cultures and issues
Electronic book
Native Seattle: Histories from the crossing-over place
Available in Print and Electronic form
Useful Online Resources
Consider the linked resources below, and find more "related guides" at the bottom of this box.
- UW Digital Collections: Assimilation Through Education: Indian Boarding Schools in the Pacific NorthwestEssay by anthropologist and librarian Carolyn J. Marr that provides an overview of Indian boarding schools in the Pacific Northwest.
- American Indian Film GalleryConsists of short archival videos, mostly from the 1930s - 1970s. Films arranged by tribal name.
- American Indians in Children's Literature"Established in 2006, American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) provides critical perspectives and analysis of indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books, the school curriculum, popular culture, and society. "
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection - UW Digital CollectionsFrom UW Digital Collections - Search through documents, photos, articles, and more.
- The Circle--Native American News and ArtsContains news stories affecting the Native American community written from a Native American perspective. Search by entering terms into the search box or by clicking on headings on left of page.
- Intergovernmental Affairs: Tribal Affairs"This website highlights the Census Bureau's relationship with tribal governments and provides important AIAN and tribal resources. The Census Bureau collects data for the AIAN population and publishes specific counts, estimates, and statistics."
- National Museum of the American IndianIncludes a sample of NMAI’s object and historic photo collections
- Native American Heritage MonthNovember is National American Indian Heritage Month - look through this website for information and resources
- Native American Immigration - Library of CongressRead short articles in this interactive module about Immigration and the United States. Includes sections such as Destroying the Native American Cultures, Removing Native Americans from their Land, Civil War Years, 19th Century Perceptions, Custer's Last Stand ... Aftermath, Losses, Disaster at Wounded Knee, United States Citizenship for the Native American, The Future for Native Americans? and Native American place names
- Native American TimesProvides access to Native American-related news articles. Search by entering search term in the search box or by clicking on the tabs at top of the page.
- Smithsonian's History ExplorerThis is a great website that offers information on a variety of history topics, as well as images of primary source materials such as physical artifacts. Enter a simple keyword into the search box at the top right of the website. Search example: Revolutionary War, Vietnam War, or Suffrage.
- Tribal Government Resources, WashingtonFrom the Governor's Office of Tribal Affairs site.
Washington State Tribes
Click on image to enlarge map
Image: "Indian Tribes in Washington State" by USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service is in the Public Domain
- Washington TribesThis website shares information about how the 29 tribes in Washington State are helping to build a better future for everyone and includes links, photos, and videos for individual tribes.
- Map of US Indians by StateLook for tribes by name, or by geographic location using the search feature on this National Tribal Directory.
Washington State Tribes
Below you can see a list of links to just some of the tribes in Washington State.
- Puyallup Tribe of IndiansFind information about the Puyallup tribe including a land acknowledgement and other resources.
Need help locating a tribe or finding it's official website?
Use the link below to search for national tribal information. Search by name, or limit to the PNW location.
- National Tribal DirectoryLook for tribes by name, or by geographic location using the search feature on this National Tribal Directory.
National Tribes
Click to enlarge map (opens in a new tab) or Use link below to view details PDF
Image Source: Carapella, Aaron. Tribal Nations Maps: Our Own Names & Locations. Tribal Nations Maps, www.tribalnationsmaps.com/. Accessed 23 Apr. 2019.
- Tribal Nations Map: Our Own Names & LocationsThis map was created by Aaron Carapella, owner of the website: www.tribalnationsmaps.com
- Map of US Indians by StateLook for tribes by name, or by geographic location using the search feature on this National Tribal Directory.
The links below go to the websites for national tribes.
Below you can see a list of links to just some of the many tribes in the nation.
Need help locating a tribe or finding it's official website?
Use the link below to search for national tribal information. Search by name, or limit by region.
- National Tribal DirectoryLook for tribes by name, or by geographic location using the search feature on this National Tribal Directory.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!