Tacoma Community College Library: United States History: Find Articles

Searching directly in library databases

Why use a library database?

While SuperSearch can be helpful to browse through the collection and see what information is available on a topic, searching the library databases directly can give you more control over your search results. When you have decided on a topic, you can try searching in ProQuest or Academic Search, linked below.

What's in a library database?

These databases store thousands of articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and more. Limit by year, information type, publication, and more. Email articles to yourself, download them, and generate MLA or APA citations with ease.

Also known as...

Library databases are also referred to as "research databases," "electronic databases," "article databases," etc. Sometimes, librarians just shorten the phrase to just the word "database."

Starting points for finding articles

Databases to Get You Started

The Library has some print journals, magazines, and newspapers but most are stored electronically in research databases. The databases listed below cover a number of subjects and are good starting points for finding articles for your research.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics.

Need more help options? Consider the linked list below

Complete List of TCC Library Research Databases
Click here to view all of the research databases available at your TCC Library

Other databases to consider

History Study Center This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized sources for the study of global history.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) News, culture and history from 200 plus publications from the ethnic, minority and Native press in English and Spanish.
African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
(Oxford) Articles from specialized encyclopedias of African American and African history and culture. Includes primary sources and the African American National Biography.
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Provides scholarly literature and current news applicable to all branches of the United States military and the government.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Set up an account for full access to New York Times: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/ (Note: 52 weeks after you first set up your own NYTimes account, you will need to re-authenticate by going to the same URL.) [Historical coverage: full access to New York Times articles published between 1851 through 1922, and between 1981 through current day. Access to the years 1923-1980 is limited.]
Congress and the Nation This link opens in a new window
Provides clear, comprehensive coverage of U. S. Congressional action from 1945 to 2008. Navigate chronologically, or search and browse politics and policy within topic areas.