This is just a brief, alphabetical list of some of the major events and topics in American history for this time period.
16th-27th Amendments passed
Apollo 8 & 11 & 17
Assassination of Harvey Milk
Assassination of Malcolm X
Assassination of President Kennedy
Atomic Bombing of Hiroshima
Attack on Pear Harbor
Birth of a Nation, film
Civil Rights Act of 1964
Civil Rights Act of 1968
FBI is created
Ford Model T is produced
Martin Luther King Jr. is assassinated
Mt. Saint Helens Erupts
Oklahoma City Bombing
Pure Food and Drug Act
Roe v. Wade supreme court ruling
Sinking of the Titanic
Spanish Flu of 1918
Steve Jobs establishes Apple
Stock Market crash
The Dust Bowl
The Great Depression
The Wright brothers , first flight
U.S. McCarthy Hearings
Wall Street Crash of 1929
Works Progress Administration
World war 1
world war 2
Twentieth Century (1900-1999)
The alphabetical list of links below go to different websites where you can find both secondary and primary sources on a variety of different topics pertaining to people, places, and events important to U.S. History at this time.
*Note: There is another "American Wars" tab in this guide that contains additional resources covering the wars of this century
From the Library of Congress, this collection is comprised of "253 published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920. "
Intended to supplement the curricula, textbooks, and materials you currently use for lessons on the civil rights struggle. The teacher-developed resources in the section will enhance the classroom experience for both you and your students.
This site contains information on the Civil Rights movement in Mississippi, where it was particularly active. There are also links to other sites on the Civil Rights Movement. Created by the McCain Library and Archives, University of Southern Mississippi.
Search through essays, articles, and six different online exhibitions that cover topics such as the Dust Bowl Migration, The New Deal, the San Francisco General Strike, and a look into Everyday Life in Hard Times.
"HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. "
This is a great website that offers information on a variety of history topics, as well as images of primary source materials such as physical artifacts. Enter a simple keyword into the search box at the top right of the website. Search example: Revolutionary War, Vietnam War, or Suffrage.
Search through secondary and primary sources on this museum's website. Learn more about the impact of the Holocaust in the United States by reading selected articles or searching Holocaust Encyclopedia.
"The mission of the Vietnam Center at (TTU) is to support and encourage research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam experience; promoting a greater understanding of this experience and the peoples and cultures of Southeast Asia." The VCA
Directed out of Buffalo State College, "The Vietnam Veterans Oral History and Folklore Project is engaged in an ongoing undertaking to collect, preserve and make better known the folklore, especially the folksongs, of Americans in war." What distinguishes this site is its focus on " ... the songs made by the American men and women, civilian and military, who served ... (in Vietnam), for themselves."
University of Washington Digital Collection of ephemera that circulated on the the University of Washington Campus in the 1960's and 1970's. It includes leaflets and newspapers, and is divided by subject to make searching easier.
Searching for the Vietnam War, you will find webcasts that include autobiography, poetry, a talk by Tim O'Brien, and a number of other presentations by historians, writers, commentators, and political figures. The Library of Congress webcasts are not limited to history; however, but also include the sciences, the arts, religion, technology and a wide variety of other fields.
Created by AARP and the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights (LCCR) this site is divided into several sections. Particularly interesting is the section titled "The Voices" which features stories written and told by people who experienced the Civil Rights Movement first hand. The History Section includes an interactive timeline, a photo gallery and more.
"The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955."
Search this Moving Image Archive collection to find primary source films on a topic. Connecting to the larger Archive.org collection is easy as well, and the larger website has collections of books and other documents that might be useful for history topics.
"The Internet Archive is a ...non-profit (organization) that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format." Internet Archive
Librarian note: "Fascinating and addictive; you could get happily lost here for days..."
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087