Tacoma Community College Library: Statistics : Health Statistics

Health Statistics

Washington State & National Health Data

Washington State & Pierce County

Washington Dept of Health
Data on infectious diseases, injury & trauma, maternal & child health and more.
Data.Washington
Search and browse WA state datasets for agriculture, demographics, economics, education and health.

National health data

Tacoma-Pierce County Health Department: Public health data
Contains data, maps, environmental indicators, and more.
AgingStats.gov
Federal interagency forum on aging-related statistics
Behavioral Risk Factor Survey
"(W)orld’s largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984."
Cancer Statistics (NCI)
National Cancer Institute at the National Institutes of Health
CDC: Epi Info™
Epi Info™ is a public domain suite of interoperable software tools designed for the global community of public health practitioners and researchers. It provides for easy data entry form and database construction, a customized data entry experience, and data analyses with epidemiologic statistics, maps, and graphs for public health professionals who may lack an information technology background.
CDC Data & Statistics
Contains data and data sets from the U.S. Center for Disease Control
Finding and Using Health Statistics
An online course from the National Library of Medicine which "describes the range of available health statistics, identifies their sources and helps you understand how to use information about their structure as you search."
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx)
Use the GHDx to research population census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health.
HealthData.gov
Data & Data Sets provided by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
HealthData.gov
Data & Data Sets provided by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Kaiser State Health Facts
Data on more than 700 health topics covering the United States.
Kids Count Census Data Online
Kids Count is a national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the U.S. Much statistical data pertaining to education.
Kids Count Data Center
Portal of datasets, data tools, and statistics about children, pregnant women and their families put together by Maternal & Child Health Library at Georgetown University.
National Center for Health Statistics
Provides access to a wide range of statistics and data sets in the fields of medicine and health and includes FastStats for quick summary data.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.
Statistical Abstract of the United States: Health & Nutrition
Huge compilation of US data, covers topics like energy consumption, life expectancy and consumer prices.

US Vital Statistics

Atlas of United States Mortality
In addition to maps with age-adjusted death rates for each health service area (HSA), the atlas includes maps that compare each HSA rate to the national rate, smoothed maps for each cause that show the broad geographic patterns at selected ages, and a chart with regional rates for each cause of death.
CDC Wonder
Searchable compilation of Centers for Disease Control (CDC) reports, guidelines, and health data for disease and demographic groups. Includes surveillance data, Healthy People 2010, MMWR, and other CDC publications.
Vital and Health Statistics Series
The "Rainbow Series". Data including vital statistics, morbidity, health resources and utilization of health resources. Indexed in PubMed.
Vital Statistics of the United States
Annual reports that present detailed vital statistics data, including nationality, mortality, marriage and divorce.
VitalStats
Births, mortality, perinatal mortality. Interactive tables, data files, and reports from CDC.
American Foundation for Suicide Prevention: Suicide statistics
This website offers information and statistics on suicide in the United States. Search an interactive map, compare statistics, and get printable fact-sheets.
American Association of Suicidology: Suicide Statistics
This website provides a lot of information about suicide and suicide prevention. Under "resources" search through factsheets and statistics.

International Health Statistics

World Health Organization: Global Health Observatory Data Repository
Guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from World Health Organization (WHO). (Formerly WHOSIS: WHO Statistical Information System).
WHO Global Health Observatory
Data on health topics including mortality, child health and nutrition, environmental health, violence, and more. Includes annual summary of health-related data for WHO member states.