Finding literary criticism : Literary criticism articles
Google Scholar
It is possible to find literary criticism on the Web. But instead of just a regular Google search, try Google Scholar, linked below.
You'll find sections of books, and occasionally, the full text of scholarly articles.
Literature databases
The TCC Library subscribes to several databases specifically dedicated to literature and literary criticism:
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism and analyses of authors, works, themes, genres and literary topics. - Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. - ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and other content types provide authoritative and current coverage of famous and lesser-known novelists, poets, and playwrights, as well as topics like the Harlem Renaissance.
Sample search in Bloom's Literature:
- Type in keywords into the search box at the top
- Note the different types of sources and articles available, including the tab labeled "Criticism"
- Click on the article title in the results list to read the full text of the article
General databases
To find criticism in academic journals, try the Academic Search Complete database, the JSTOR database, and also ProQuest database, linked below.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
Sample search in Academic Search Complete:
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!