Shakespeare research guide: Finding films
Search the catalog to find films of Shakespeare's plays
Shakespeare DVDs:
Click the link below to see a complete list of Shakespeare's films in the TCC Library's collection.
- Library catalog search for Shakespeare filmsA complete list of DVDs and VHS titles relating to Shakespeare in the TCC Library's collection.
View films in the library:
Films can also be viewed in the library. All library computers can play DVDs. There are 3 VHS players in the library; ask at the Front Desk for locations.
Sample Shakespeare films available in TCC Library:
HamletCall Number: Film Collection PR2807.A23Z44 1990Publication Date: 1990Hamlet [DVD] / Warner Bros. and Nelson Entertainment present an Icon production; screenplay by Christopher De Vore, Franco Zeffirelli; produced by Dyson Lovell; directed by Franco Zeffirelli.
1 videodisc (DVD) (135 min.)
The dramatic works of William Shakespeare: HistoryCall Number: Film Collection PR2762 .D735 DVDs in this collection of BBC adaptations: King Henry IV, Part 1; King Henry IV, Part 2; Henry V; King Richard II; King Richard III
The dramatic works of William Shakespeare: ComedyCall Number: Film Collection PR2761.B755 DVDs in this collection of BBC adaptations: As You Like It; Merchant of Venice; Midsummer Night's Dream; Taming of the Shrew; Tempest
The dramatic works of William Shakespeare: TragedyCall Number: Film Collection PR2763.B755 DVDs in this collection of BBC adaptations: Hamlet; Julius Caesar; Macbeth; Othello; Romeo and Juliet
Shakespeare plays and documentaries in Films on Demand database
Films on Demand is a database full of films and documentaries, with over 800 films (!) dedicated to Shakespeare works, life, and literary criticism. Each film in this database also includes transcripts and citation tools to easily quote and cite the films!
Explore Films on Demand:
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments.
Sample search in Films on Demand:
- Type your keywords into the top search box -- keep it simple!
- You can change the results to full film titles or segments
- You can also narrow down your results to specific types of films, including documentary films, performances, and more.
- Click on the title of the full video/segment to watch the film
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!