Washington State history and current information: Encyclopedia articles
HistoryLink: a free online encyclopedia of Washington State
HistoryLink is a free online encyclopedia for Washington State history -- a great place to start your research!
- HistoryLinkA free, authoritative, Washington State history encyclopedia.
Gale eBooks
What's Gale eBooks?
Gale eBooks is a collection of electronic encyclopedia articles on many different topics, that you can access through the Library's portal pages. There are a few articles on Washington's general history and some famous events (like the eruption of Mount Saint Helens) or places, such as Puget Sound.
Click this link to search the Gale eBooks database:
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
Here's a screenshot of how you might find relevant encyclopedia articles in this database:
- The search box where you type in keywords
- A record of the search terms I used (in this case, "internment camps washington state")
- A way to narrow down your search by adding additional keywords to search within the results of your original search
- Click the title of the encyclopedia article to read the full article
How do you cite articles in the GVRL database?
At the top of any article, look for the "Citation Tools" link to generate an MLA citation:
Encyclopedias and other reference books
Encyclopedias, handbooks and atlases are great places to get background information on a topic. Here are print titles in the reference collection that include information on Washington State (click the title of each book listed below to view its record and availability at the TCC Library):
Origins of Pierce County place names by Call Number: Main Collection F897.P6R44 1989Publication Date: 1988
Place names of the Pacific Northwest coast : Origins, histories and anecdotes in bibliographic form about the coast of British Columbia, Washington and Oregon by Call Number: Reference F889.M5Publication Date: 1969
Washington road and recreation atlas by Call Number: Main Collection G1485.D4 1998Publication Date: 2007
Coastal zone atlas of Washington: Land cover/land use narratives by Call Number: Library Reference G1486.C6G3W2 1980 V.1 & V. 2Publication Date: 1980
Historical atlas of Washington and Oregon by Call Number: Library Reference G1486.S1H3 2011Publication Date: 2011Library Reference
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!