Primary sources: TCC Archive
What Is the TCC Archive?
Like a library, an archive makes resources available for research, but the resources an archive holds tend to be original documents (primary sources) from the past. Sources that document the past can come in all shapes, sizes and formats. For example, in TCC's Archive, there are papers and books, but also videos, photographs, posters, scrapbooks and even a few artifacts.
Our mission: the Archive preserves materials significant to the College history and makes them accessible for research.
Archive Time Capsules: The Obi Society
The Obi Society was founded by African American students at TCC in 1968. This organization later evolved into the student organization now called the Black Student Union (BSU). In 1969, the Obi Society presented a list of demands to TCC's President, Dr. Thornton Ford. TCC's hiring of Black faculty, inclusion of Black Studies courses in the curriculum, etc. can all be seen as at least partly the result of the Obi Society's activism.
See the TCC Archive's online Obi Society Time Capsule.
Visit our Web page
Welcome letter, from first TCC catalog 1965-1966
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!