Primary sources: Primary sources via the Library catalog and databases
Catalog search example
The TCC library holds both print and electronic books that contain primary sources. Below is an example of a search for personal narratives written during the American civil war.
 |
 |
Search library catalog
"Major problems in..."
A popular source of primary materials in the library is the "Major Problems" series. Below are two examples:
Major problems in American history: Documents and essays by Call Number: Main Collection E173.M246 2012Publication Date: 2011
Major problems in American popular culture: Documents and essays by Call Number: Main Collection E169.1.M225 2012Publication Date: 2011
Library databases with primary sources
- History Study Center This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized sources for the study of global history. - African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
(Oxford) Articles from specialized encyclopedias of African American and African history and culture. Includes primary sources and the African American National Biography. - Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Articles on 400 topics, each with an overview and an argument, and many with opposing arguments. Also includes primary sources.
TCC Archive is now open!
Visit the TCC Archive. The Archive holds many primary source materials chronicling TCC history, including print copies of the "Challenge" student newspaper!
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!