POLS 240: Taylor, K. (Fall 2025): Library databases
Library databases
Your TCC Library subscribes to about 60 databases. Some of them cover many different topics in many different ways, and some of them are for specific topics or fields of study, and some of them cover topics is a specific way.
Here you will find recommendations, and some search advice for a specific database that you can also apply to many other databases, and even the "free" web.
Recommended databases
-
ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
This is one of the largest single databases. It holds newspapers, magazines, academic/research journals, and books. It can be a good place to start for almost any research task. -
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database also holds newspapers and magazines, but its largest collection is academic/research journals on hundreds of different topics. -
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of full-text articles from scholarly, government and general interest sources. -
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
These weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic. You may be able to find information about policy from reports related to the environment. -
Congress and the Nation This link opens in a new window
Provides clear, comprehensive coverage of U. S. Congressional action from 1945 to 2008. Navigate chronologically, or search and browse politics and policy within topic areas.
Formulating keyword searches
How to brainstorm:
-
State your research question/topic
- Example: "What are the environmental impacts of public policy around meat consumption?"
-
Extract main concepts:
-
CONCEPT #1 CONCEPT #2 CONCEPT #3 environmental impacts public policy meat consumption
-
-
Brainstorm key words:
-
CONCEPT #1 CONCEPT #2 CONCEPT #3 BRAINSTORM
KEYWORDSclimate change
global warming
environment
ozone
environmental change
policy
public policies
laws
government rulings
meat eating
meat intake
carnivorous diet
meat-heavy diet
-
Keywords can be:
- synonyms
- related terms
- broader ideas
- narrower ideas
- alternate spellings
- specific examples
- abbreviations or acronyms
ProQuest - how to search and the things you might find
Key term searches: The most effective way to search a database is by using the fewest words possible, and the ones that best describe your interest or your question. Here in ProQuest we see that this student is interested in finding policy or ideas about policy regarding the environmental impacts of meat consumption.
Below are just two examples of articles that may be relevant to this student. The first one is from an academic or scholarly research journal, and the second is from a magazine. Both may offer this student some ideas about policies that could help reduce the rate of meat consumption to lower our ecological footprint.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!