ENGL 235: Technical Writing : Infographics and statistics
Infographics - starting points and search tips
These websites are repositories, or collections, of infographics. Make sure to evaluate infographics to see if they have cited their sources -- and best of all, if they provide links to their sources, so you can follow the source and doublecheck the data!
- Infographics ArchiveSite developed by programmers and designers. The public can submit their own infographics, and you can search for infographics by either using the search box or by browsing categories of infographics.
- Daily InfographicSite by CafeMedia, where the public can submit infographics. They feature an infographic daily, but you can search by category or use the search box.
- Infographics ShowcaseOnline collection of infographics and data visualizations, with a more global focus. Use the search box to search for infographics.
- Information is Beautiful - DataFounded by David McCandless, author of multiple books about infographics. The "Data" page provides a list of the infographics available on this site, with links to the infographic plus links to the primary data source.
- GovLoopCollection of government-related infographics.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
These weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic. Full reports include a "Maps/Graphs" section. - Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Articles on 400 topics, each with an overview and an argument, and many with opposing arguments.You can browse the "Charts/Graphs for Topics" section on the database's home page and "Reference Shelf" box.
How to find maps and graphs in the CQ Researcher database:
Each full report in CQ Researcher includes a "Maps/Graphs" section:
How to find charts and graphs in the Points of View Reference Center database:
On this database's home page, there is a "Reference Shelf" box on the right-hand side, with a link for "Charts/Graphics for Topics."
In Google Images, adding the keyword infographics to your search terms can be a helpful starting point when searching for infographics. Be sure to click on the "Images" source type to narrow down to images.
Now you try!
- CanvaTemplates to create infographics and other types of visual medium, including slides, graphics, flyers, and more. Register for a free account.
- PiktochartInfographic design app with free tools and templates. Best used to create flyers and graphics for webpages.
- The best infographic makers in 2023Info and tips for a range of infographic apps and platforms, including free options.
Statistics and data - starting points and search tips
Adding the keyword statistics -- or similar keywords, like data or reports -- to your Google search can be a helpful starting point when searching for statistics.
Both organizations and government sites are good places to find statistics. Try adding the "site search" trick to your Google search for organizations and government sources. How? Just add site:.org and then try the same search with site:.gov to compare-and-contrast results -- and resulting statistics!
Now you try!
Government agencies are often the best places to begin for finding statistics. Why? Because they're often the organizations responsible for collecting statistics, particularly nationwide.
- Data.govData sets and applications for analyzing and presenting them, compiled by U.S. government departments and agencies.
- Explore Census DataFind popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community. An easy way into Census data!
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsFind information on employment, unemployment, inflation, wages and more.
- National Center for Education StatisticsThe National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education
- MIT Living wage calculatorSearch for living wage, minimum wage, and poverty levels for states and major cities/metro areas.
- City DataTry the "Quick Navigation" map or the "Interactive Data Map" on this site to drill down to all kinds of local data about residents, community, median income, and more.
National polling data:
- The Pew Research CenterThe Pew Research Center "is a nonpartisan “fact tank” that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world."
- Gallup PollsAnother leading polling "think tank" that gathers current polling data on a wide variety of national and international issues. Click on "Resources" to view reports, datasets, and more.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!