LGBTQIA+ support and resources
Search terms
Considering search terms
When searching for LGBTQ resources, you will sometimes have better results if you spell out whole words rather than using acronyms. Here is a list of words and phrases that you might use while conducting research:
Gay
Lesbian
Queer
Questioning
Gay Marriage
Marriage equality
Gay Spirituality
Queer Theory
Lesbian Religion
History
Holocaust
Periodical databases
Periodical articles
Periodical articles are articles in publications that are published periodically (daily, weekly, monthly, etc.): primarily magazines, newspapers, and journals. TCC's periodical subscriptions are mostly online and found through our databases. We strive to offer a periodical collection representing many points of view, so you should be able to find multiple perspectives on LGBTQ issues through the databases.
If you've never used a database, we will be happy to give you a brief lesson--stop by the Research Desk and meet one of your faculty librarians.
Databases to consider
- Try the three Ebsco databases (Academic Search Complete, Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL), and PsycArticles. Click on the "Search tips" tab in this box for instructions about how to search all three at once.
These databases are strong sources of academic or scholarly articles.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text provides access to over 600 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
(Also known as APA PsycARTICLES).(Ebsco) Periodical database of peer-reviewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
includes scholarly journals, but also current newspapers and magazines. If you are researching something very current, ProQuest (and the web) will be your best bet.
Searching multiple collections at one time
Search multiple Ebsco databases at once by following the instructions below.
- Click on any of the Ebsco databases.
- Next to the name of the database, at the top of the search box, look for and click on the words "Choose database"
(click on image to enlarge)
- Clicking that link will result in a pop-up box with a list of all the Ebsco databases that TCC subscribes to. You can then select mutiple databases, clicking "OK" to apply the change.
(click on image to enlarge)
- Back on the main search page, you can then enter your search terms and continue the search.
(click on image to enlarge)
Featured journals
Featured Scholarly Journals
Use the links below to access specific LGBTQ+ journals housed either in the library's collection or online.
Journals at the library
The list of journals below are some that TCC subscribes to. Look up these titles, or any others, using the Periodical A-Z search, linked below.
- Contemporary Sexuality
- Gender & History
- Gender & Society
- Gender and Education
- Gender, Place and Culture : a Journal of Feminist Geography
- Gender, Place and Culture : a Journal of Feminist Geography
- Journal of Gender Studies
- Journal of Interdisciplinary Studies in Sexuality
- Journal of the History of Sexuality
- LGBTQ Policy Journal
- Open Gender Journal
- Sexuality & Culture
- Studies in Gender and Sexuality
- The Canadian Journal of Human Sexuality
- Periodicals A-ZClick this link to see if the TCC Library has online or full-text access to a specific periodical (newspaper, magazine, or journal).
Journals online
Use the links below to access journals, or websites with lists of journals, online. While access to those articles may fall under paywalls via the journals' websites, remember that you can request articles through the interlibrary loan process (ILL). Click the ILL link below for more info.
- LGBT JournalsA list of journals and links, from the Society for the Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity
- LGBTQ Peer Review Scholarly JournalsA list of journals, from The American College Personnel Association (ACPA)
- Journal of LGBT Youth (website)"Publishes research on improving the quality of life for sexual and gender minority youth including lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, intersex and allied youth."
- InterLibrary Loan (ILL): InformationRequest a book or article from another library. Library staff can help you with this process.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!