LGBTQIA+ support and resources
Sources of support for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, and questioning (LGBTQIA) individuals and educational materials for allies.
Ask your Library faculty for help finding more
Print books in the library
Consider the featured books below, or use the catalog linked above to search for books, limiting to print books using the menu on the left of the results.
Beyond magenta: Transgender teens speak outCall Number: Office of Student Engagement HQ77.9 .K85 2014Publication Date: 2014" "Author and photographer Susan Kuklin met and interviewed six transgender or gender-neutral young adults and used her considerable skills to represent them thoughtfully and respectfully before, during, and after their personal acknowledgment of gender preference. Portraits, family photographs, and candid images grace the pages, augmenting the emotional and physical journey each youth has taken."
Beyond Trans: Does gender matter? by Call Number: Main Collection HQ77.95.U6D39 2017Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of contemporary LGBTQ literature of the United StatesCall Number: Reference PS153 .S39 E53 2009Publication Date: 20092 volumes. This encyclopedia “seeks to offer a comprehensive and inclusive introduction to gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer writing in the contemporary United States.”
GLBTQ: The survival guide for gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and questioning teens by Call Number: Health and Wellness Collection HQ76.25.H84 2011Publication Date: 2011"This fully revised and updated edition retains all of the straightforward information and practical advice of the original edition while providing a contemporary look at society and its growing acceptance of homosexuality and transgender people."
LGBTQ Stats: lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer people by the numbers by Call Number: Main Collection HQ76.3.U5D47 2017Publication Date: 2017
Queer America: A people's GLBT history of the United States by Call Number: Main Collection HQ76.3.U5E35 2011Publication Date: 2011"Written in the tradition of Howard Zinn's A People's History of the United States, Queer America, provides a decade-by-decade overview of major issues and events in GLBT history including the Harlem Renaissance, changes in military policy, the Stonewall riots, organizations and alliances, AIDS, same-sex marriage, representation in the media, and legal battles..."
America through transgender eyes by Call Number: Main Collection HQ77.95 .U6 S86 2019Publication Date: 2019
Trans kids: Being transgendered in the twenty-first century by Call Number: Online and in print HQ1075 .M425 2018Publication Date: 2018
Gay Seattle: Stories of exile and belonging by Call Number: Main Collection HQ76.3.U52S433 2013Publication Date: 2013
Access e-books directly from a library catalog search
Electronic books in the library's collection
Consider the featured titles below, or click on one of the ebook databases to search for more. Sign in to the portal when prompted and be sure to save the provided link. These databases will allow you to search through books, download, and copy text directly, and they also create MLA or APA citations.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 180,000 electronic books, with broad coverage on academic topics. Viewable with your web browser; also downloadable to e-readers or e-reader apps with some restrictions. - eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 electronic books, covering a large selection of multidisciplinary academic subjects. Books can be read through a web browser or downloaded.
Ask and tell: Gay and lesbian veterans speak out by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2007"Drawing on more than 50 interviews with gay and lesbian veterans, Steve Estes charts the evolution of policy toward homosexuals in the military over the past 65 years, uncovering the ways that silence about sexuality and military service has affected the identities of gay veterans."
Pocket guide to LGBTQ mental health : Understanding the spectrum of gender and sexuality by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2020
The story of sexual identity: Narrative perspectives on the gay and lesbian life course by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2009"In examining the shifting narratives of sexual identity in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries and their impact on theprocess of human social development, this edited volume fuses historical, cultural, and psychological perspectives on human sexuality to articulate a rigorous interdisciplinary approach to the study of sexual lives"
Right to be Out : Sexual orientation and gender identity in America's public schools by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2010
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!