Skip to main content
Short tutorials -- most are 3 to 4 minutes -- about how to use several databases. (Note: Some of the interfaces have changed since we made these videos, but the concepts are the same.)
What are databases?
TCC's research databases provide full text (and indexing) of magazine, newspaper, journal, and subject encyclopedia articles. Access library databases through the portal.
Using the library catalog tutorial
Find books using the library catalog.
Academic Search Complete tutorials
Find academic, scholarly, and peer-reviewed journal articles.
Explore the Academic Search Complete database:
Academic Search Complete
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
Academic Search Complete tutorial:
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) tutorials
Search subject encyclopedias for background information.
Search the GVRL database:
Database: JSTOR (with tutorials)
Find scholarly journal articles, dating from the 1800s through about 3 years ago.
Explore the JSTOR database:
Full text of older academic journal articles. TCC's collection includes: "Arts & Sciences I II & III." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics.
Find newspaper, magazine, trade journal and scholarly journal articles.
ProQuest Periodical Databases
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
General video tutorial:
More advanced tutorials:
Database: CINAHL (with video tutorials)
Find academic, scholarly, and peer-reviewed journal articles in the the fields of nursing and allied health.
CINAHL with Full Text
(Ebsco) The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text provides access to over 600 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
CQ Researcher tutorials
Choose or research a social, political or economic issues through reports in the CQ Researcher database.
Search the CQ Researcher database:
These weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic.
CQ Researcher tutorial:
Database: PsycArticles (with video tutorial)
Scholarly articles in the field of psychology.
Explore the database:
(Ebsco) Periodical database of peer-reviewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology.
Database: PubMed (with video tutorials)
Find more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content (i.e. not all articles will be available to you)
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher Web sites (i.e. not all articles will be available to you).
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5134