Skip to main content

TCC Library: Database Tutorials

What's here?

3-4 minute tutorials about how to use several databases

Note: Some of the interfaces have changed since we made these videos, but the concepts are the same.

Need help? Come to the Library! Building 7.

What are databases?

TCC's research databases provide full text (and indexing) of magazine, newspaper, journal, and subject encyclopedia articles. Access library databases through the  portal or see tutorial below.

Academic Search Complete

Find academicscholarly, and peer-reviewed journal articles.

 

CQ Researcher

Choose or research a social, political or economic issue.

 

JSTOR

Find scholarly journal articles, dating from the 1800s through about 3 years ago.

JSTOR tutorial

CINAHL

Find academic, scholarly, and peer-reviewed journal articles in the the fields of nursing and allied health..

CINAHL tutorial part I and part II

ProQuest

Find newspaper, magazinetrade journal and scholarly journal articles.

PsycARTICLES

Scholarly articles in the field of psychology.

PsycArticles tutorial

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Search subject encyclopedias for background information.

 

PubMed

Find more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content (i.e. not all articles will be available to you).

PubMed tutorial part I and part II

CC BY SA license

Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.

Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5134