Skip to main content
BioMed Central (BMC)
A pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC series.
The U.S. National Institutes of Health, through its National Library of Medicine, has developed ClinicalTrials.gov to provide patients, family members and members of the public current information about clinical research studies.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Quality-controlled scientific and scholarly open-access journals, covering a wide range of subjects and many languages. The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals.
The Encyclopedia of Earth
A fully searchable collection of articles about "the earth, its natural environments and their interactions with society," written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work.
Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)
HSDB is a toxicology database that focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It provides information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, nanomaterials, and related areas. The information in HSDB has been assessed by a Scientific Review Panel.
Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
The Internet Movie Database is a user and industry catalog of information about films. The site includes plots, characters, and reviews for thousands of films.
Movie Review Query Engine
A search engine for finding reviews, news and interviews in film. The site also collects information from important blogs in the film industry. Reviews come from international, national, and local newspapers, art and entertainment journals, and other sources.
Conservation status, taxonomic, and distribution information for over 70,000 plants, animals and ecological communities in the United States and Canada.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
Open-access journals, which vary in their criteria for publication and, with the exception of PLOS ONE, also publish a variety of influential and educational non-research content.
Fee free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
A free science library. Currently contains "scientist-authored educational articles in the fields of genetics, cell biology and ecology, and is intended for undergraduate faculty and students."
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Access to thousands of abstracts and full-text research papers.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
All entries and substantive updates are created by experts in the field and refereed by the members of an editorial board.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5134